How you learn and develop your skills

The learning of Skills is divided into three steps. Each step is dependant on one of the three information processing Mental Faculties> Instinct, Intuition and Intelligence.

First StepTrained
The first step in learning a skill is to get a feeling for what the skill is about and how it works. It can be done through either immitation by looking at someone else or through experimentation and beginners practice. The faculty that descibes your innate ability for learning through immitation is Intuition and Intelligence and the faculty that descibes your innate ability for learning through experimentation is Intuition.

Second StepProfessional
As soon as you get familiar with a skill or a tool you need to get beyond your innate abilites to experiment and immitate. You need to start in deapth exploring and study the skill as if it were subject to speculation. Through this study and in deapth exploration together with practical training you are able to raise your skill level even higher. The faculty that descibes your innate ability for learning of in deapth exploration and study is Intelligence.

Thrid Step?
Once you have reached the higher proficiencies of a skill you might be considered a master by many but in truth there are always more to learn. At some point during your skill progression you face that it becomes difficult to learn much more through immitation, experimentation, exploration and study. When you are at this stage your body and mind is trying to become One with the skill or the tool and your instincts start to take over the learning ability. From being a conscious process of getting better at the skill, the skill starts to meld with your most primal states of body and mind and your execution of the skill is almost instant and automatic, where little actual thinking is in the works while the skill is being operated. The faculty that descibes your innate ability to learn and act through instant and automatic operation of the skill is Instinct.

The Steps
From Skill levels 1 through to 3 the first step applies. From Skill levels 4 through to 6 the Second step appies. From skill levels 7 through to 10 the third step applies. Every value below 1 (from 0 down to -10) you are considered Untrained

This entry was posted in Rules and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How you learn and develop your skills

  1. Jensan says:

    I think you’ve nailed this one. It wouldn’t make any sense to become better at something by repeating the same thing over and over (well you’d probably be very good at doing that ONE thing – like working in a toy factory for 30 years or so).

    • anteolsson says:

      Oh my, thank you!

      I wonder how good we would have been today at packaging toys if we would have stayed?

      • Jensan says:

        I believe we’d still be at skill level 0 (we never were any good at it…).
        Do you have any cool titles for the different steps, like “Apprentice”, “Novice” or such?

  2. anteolsson says:

    True, we weren’t.

    it is a good question. I think by giving the different steps a particular name you force a certain “view” on what the Step means and I am not sure that is preferred, but on the other hand I think giving the different steps a name that we can relate to and understand would help in understanding it. The question then is, what would we call these different steps?

    Do you have any suggestions on what the steps should be called? Something that we can relate to with the skills we have in normal life would be preferred.

    • Jensan says:

      Hmm, it’s hard, because of the abstract term of the skill step; if it were steps in a certain profession you’d probably just call them by that name (e.g. for chefs: “Commis”, “Sous-chef”, and “Head chef”), but what about those that aren’t governed by a profession (e.g. someone who does tricks with a round ball)?

      I’d probably just call the three steps something very general, like “Fiddler”, “Pupil”, and “Master”.
      Or “Untrained”, “Trained”, “Professional”.
      Or “Mediocrity”, “Gifted”, “Divine”.
      Or “Not so good”, “Good”, “Very good” 🙂

      • anteolsson says:

        Thank you. I like the second and the last suggestion the best. I also think it is most accurate as to what it really is about. I had the idea that when you got to step 3 that the skill would become an art but “art” is too ambigious I think.

        The problem with statistics is that it is difficult to make it fluid. Each period or interval needs to have a dividing point and so it becomes compartmentalised and hence the Steps. But luckily role playing games asks for imagination and I guess that is what we need keep in mind both when we play and create.

  3. Anders says:

    Ummnn… nice the way you have organised it.

    You could also go the mystical way, and just call the steps: Foddler, Wada and finally Mogar (or what ever). In that way you are sure not to force any “view” on it 😛

    • anteolsson says:

      hehe. yes, i guess so, but then it would not be as explanatory and I would like it to be as clear as possible when you read it. But then when it comes to Classes or professions you could bring in more specific titles. A particular order of monks in a secluded monastery could for example have very exotic titles for their levels of experience. I haven’t written anything about classes yet though.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s